Home » Beauty » Bursting with goodness- Innisfree Jeju volcanic pore clay mask

Bursting with goodness- Innisfree Jeju volcanic pore clay mask

image

This is a clay mask, but no ordinary clay mask.  The clay comes from volcanoes in Jeju Island in Korea, which is a scenic place with funky looking stone people (Google it for yourself.  I visited the place almost 20 years ago and I still remember the live octopus that we ate… anyway.  Enough of this.), or so I’m told by the packaging of this mask.  The tub looks kind of little but actually holds 100mL of product. 

image

Judging from the appearance, it’s quite similar to most of the clay masks I have tried- slightly greyish tone, in a paste, slightly watery looking but undoubtedly will dry to a cracking texture.  But alas, I was wrong.

image

The first thing that struck me when I first put it on was how smooth it is.  You’d think that volcanic clay would be slightly gritty, but it isn’t.  It feels really smooth and pleasant on.  It also doesn’t dry into a cracking mess.  I have used it several times, sometimes in a thin layer and sometimes I just slather it on.  It does dry up slightly but won’t overly draw water from the face.  It’s also easy to wash off.  All you need is a wet washcloth to wipe your face, and it comes off easily.  Finish off with water, and it doesn’t leave your face tingling and dry.  It does, however, draw out minor impurities.  I feel that my blackheads come out more easily after using this mask.

image

And here’s the Korean written on the tub, for those of you who can read Korean (I can’t)!  For the price I paid ($110 HKD, which is about $14 USD), I think the mask is good value for the money.  Although it is a bit hard to scoop it out from a tub, I don’t mind using a spatula (or fingers… hehe), and I’d purchase it again, in a heartbeat!

Tell me what you think!

